With Mitt Out, Huck’s the Go-To Guy

Mitt Romney Mike HuckabeeAs I awoke this morning I was greeted with the news that Mitt Romney had dropped out of the Republican Presidential race. I quickly flipped on FoxNews in time to see Governor Romney giving his “good-bye” speech.

Romney spoke of uniting the Republican party behind a singular candidate (McCain) so as to defeat Hillary or Obama. He said that no matter who the Democrats elected, their main goal was to pull our troops out of Iraq and accept defeat. He said he was more interested in keeping that our main focus rather than being divided among the smaller issues.

So he claimed his pulling out was for the good of the Republican race, and I can see his point. We need to get all Republicans behind a candidate so as to ensure that neither Hillary nor Obama get in the White House.

But can McCain do that? McCain has been wish-washy for so long that many Republicans feel he would be just as bad a choice for the Presidency as Hillary. I don’t know that I would go so far as to say that, but I will say that McCain will not have my support with a man like Mike Huckabee still in the race.

Huckabee has proven to be the conservative Republican, no matter what the media and even some Republicans have said. I have heard everything from “He doesn’t have enough experience” to “He is a liberal conservative.” And you know what I have to say? Quit throwing mud and research his credentials for yourself.

As the analyst on FoxNews said, the Republican nominee needs to have a strong base with the conservatives in the Republican party so he can reach out to the moderates and independents. But McCain does not have that. He doesn’t have that strong foothold and trust with the conservative Republicans. He has voted on the side of the Democrats in the Senate far too many times for us to be able to trust him. And with a Democratic majority in the House and the Senate, we need a strong conservative President.

So where will McCain get those votes? (Assuming he is the Republican nominee) I believe his best bet is with Mike Huckabee. Huckabee has proven strong in the Southern states, which make up a majority of the conservative vote.

So with a McCain/Huckabee ticket I believe the Republicans can pick up a large percentage of both the conservative and moderate votes. Not to mention McCain’s appeal to more conservative Democrats who don’t want Hillary or Obama becoming President.

Besides, from the news I hear floating around the Romney supporters I know, Huckabee is picking up a lot of former Mitt votes. So who knows. We may still see a miracle come out of this race.

2 Responses

  1. I think McCain can beat both Democrats but I have noted that Huckerbee has been an excellent and noble candidate..who knows, as you suggest..a miracle…take care Lauren

  2. You should watch Huckabee’s speech to the CPAC. It is Really Good! 🙂 I have a link to it on my latest entry. His speech as my husband said made you want to stand up and wave the flag. 🙂 I love reading your blog. 🙂 Thanks for sharing. 🙂

Leave a Reply

