If You Win…They Will Come

A few days ago the Iowa caucuses were held and the Republican winner was Mike Huckabee. I was pleased to hear this as I am a big Mike Huckabee supporter because I believe he will be the one that can best lead our nation.

Mike HUckabee

But today, in reading news articles about the win, I came across this story. The title is: “US ‘Doomed’ if Creationist President Elected.” The article goes on to say how America will be hurt by a President who “doubts evolution.”

“‘The logic that convinces us that evolution is a fact is the same logic we use to say smoking is hazardous to your health or we have serious energy policy issues because of global warming,’ University of Michigan professor Gilbert Omenn told reporters at the launch of a book on evolution by the National Academy of Sciences (NAS).”

Really? Have we gone that far in our political bashing and mud-throwing? And as a side note, evolution is not a scientific fact. Neither is creation. A scientific fact must be proven by the scientific method which includes observing the event. Since none of us were present when the world began, I do not believe we should be calling either one a scientific truth but rather what it is: a belief. In saying that, it makes more sense to me to believe that a Divine Being created something rather than believing that the intricate work of this world and the preciseness of the universe was happened about by a bang or by some process of evolution. And personally, I refute the idea of being related to a primate. I’m sorry, I don’t like being called an animal. But that’s just me.

Back to the story though, since when has a President’s beliefs about the process of creation affected the world’s climate or oil supply? Maybe you can explain the parallels of that to me. It just seems random and off the wall. It seems to me that now that Governor Huckabee is in the media and news more often, attacks on him are becoming more frequent and quite frankly, more bizarre.

Why don’t we stop attacking someone’s beliefs or personal life and focus on their character or policies? I think George Washington, John Adams, Thomas Jefferson, Abraham Lincoln, and Ronald Reagan, to name a few, were some of our finest Presidents and they believed in creationism. I don’t remember hearing how their beliefs negatively affected our planet or the sea life. If anything, they helped build America up and make her what she is today.

It just goes to show that if you win a caucus or are in the media’s eyes, the attacks will come.

4 Responses

  1. Although I do not support Huckabee I do agree that evolution is bunk and that a lot of our founding fathers were not evolutionists and built this nation on Christian Principles.

    There is a really good movie coming out and I’m very excited to see it called “Expelled The Movie” You should definitely watch the trailer I think you’ll find it interesting.

    http://www.expelledthemovie.com/playground.php

  2. I watched the video and thought it was very straightforward and very true. I look forward to the movie coming out so I can see it. Thank you for the link.

  3. Of course political mud throwing is going to far; it happens in most of the western world.

    Personally, I feel it far more productive to focus on policies…

    If an article argued that the U.S. were doomed due to a candidates policies well and good. But to argue same cause one “doubts evolution” is irrelevant in the context of running a nation. I agree with the point you make here…good posting…

  4. Good point Otto. Thanks for the comment.

Leave a Reply

