Something to Think About

I just read the following news story from Foxnews and have to say that it is a very insightful probe into the American way of politics.

“Here’s just how [messed] up the current cash-grabbing, celebrity-over-substance presidential campaign has become… the media is now debating whether John McCain’s fashion sense is a problem for his campaign.Apparently he was wearing a sweater or cardigan at some point, which led some to speculate that this fashion faux pas was even more proof that his campaign was spiraling downward.

Personally, I don’t own that many sweaters so I’m not sure what to make of the fashionistas comments. But I do know that we’ve almost hit rock bottom when somehow, in our own special, twisted, surreal choose-a-president way of doing things, a man who was a decorated combat pilot, who spent five and a half years as a POW under unimaginably brutal conditions, who then became a respected congressman and senator for the past 25 years, suddenly is ranked based on both his sense of style and his ability to raise money.

FYI, I don’t have a dog in the hunt for this upcoming election. And I use the term “upcoming” loosely, given that the election is still 15 months and hundreds of millions of dollars in consultants’ fees away. The point I’m making is that we seem to be losing sight of what constitutes character and experience.”

I may not vote for McCain, but I agree that we should respect him for all he’s done for our nation.

And come on America, don’t let Hollywood dictate who our next President is! This should not be a social decision! Stand on your own two feet and vote for who you believe in!

Just something to think about as we head toward November 2008.

3 Responses

  1. I have gauged a slight turn of rhetoric in relation to Iraq within the print media over the past few weeks. To be sure, anti-war mongers are still the loudest but as political campaigning matures in the U.S.; we can expect greater balance and, constructive debate about the merits of pursuing a solution in Iraq. By constructive, I refer to debate that takes into account the entire region and leaves Hollywood out of the equation.

    By the way I have heard McCain speak on several issues, he may be down in polls but he displayed a great deal of knowledge about South East Asian issues.

  2. Hey Lauren,

    If you get time check this out.

    See: http://neoconcommandcenter.blogspot.com/2007/08/moron-update.html

    Regards

  3. Otto,

    Wow. Great post and an even greater site! Thanks for the link! Sorry I haven’t been around much lately. Work has been hectic this summer and things are getting even more hectic around here. Not to worry, I still love America, our troops, and everything conservative in this world 🙂 With the election coming up, I haven’t said much about it, but hopefully soon I will do a post about my thoughts.

    Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

