Restoring the Brand

Well as most of you know, I attended a local Republican Committee Meeting last Monday night. It was a small gathering of the board of the Antelope Valley Republican Assembly, a few guests, the press, and the guest speaker. The guest speaker was Mike Spence, president of the California Republican Assembly. He spoke of restoring the brand of the Republican party.

Many years ago, people heard the name Republican and thought of people for a smaller government, fewer taxes, and a strong defense program. But now, people are confused by liberal Republicans and conflicting views within our party.

When people voted for President Reagan, they knew what he stood for and they respected his views. Now not everyone loved him, but you knew what you were getting when you voted for him. Now we have people within our own party who sound more like Democrats than Republicans! A recent poll indicated that when asked which party was for tax increases, most people said the Republicans! Folks, that is not true! We have mixed the waters so much that when you say you’re a Republican, no one truly knows your stand anymore!

The only way to save face in our country is to restore our brand as Republicans. We must get back to the basics of our party-back to a smaller government, fewer taxes, fewer social programs, a strong military defense, punishment for illegal immigration, and so on. We must reestablish our name as Republicans.

This will take a while, but we must start now. And let me just add that it isn’t going to start with wish-washy candidates like John McCain and Rudy Guiliani. We must have candidates who say, “Yes I am a Republican and here’s what I believe and why.”

Only then will we be able to restore the brand of the Republican party and take a step in helping restore the brand of our country.

4 Responses

  1. Though my blog I have recieived emails from Americans and have noted a common thread in terms of the political scene in the U.S.

    One wrote:

    “About President Bush, I will say I am a conservative and voted for him in both elections. However the American people are very disappointed in the outcome of this war, how it’s being handled, and in the American government period! Many fear that we are losing our position as #1 world power. We are fed up with the Republicans, Democrats and our Congress! I fear for our future”…

    I think both Republicans and Democrats should “restore the brand”, as you put it. In terms of the current crop of Republican candidates I do not think that any one of them measure up, not yet anyway. The same could be said of Democrats. Both major party candidates seem to have distanced themselves from their traditional party ideology and voter base, little wonder there is voter apathy.

    Love him or hate him, Al Gore strikes me as the only potential politician in the United States whose personal doctrine is consistent with that of the party he supports; one has to give him credit for that. Of course, he has not put his hand up to run, but if he were to, Hillary and Obama would be history.

    Back to the major Republican guys, what do you think of Mitt Romney? http://www.mittromney.com/

    I think that America is on the verge of turning the corner and I am increasingly getting optimistic and so are some influential intellectuals. If you get time, have a read of this great piece as published in “The Economist”: “American power Still No.1” … Wounded, tetchy and less effective than it should be, America is still the power that counts…

    The article can be viewed at: http://www.economist.com/opinion/displayStory.cfm?Story_ID=9407806

    Finally, I am glad you attended the commitee meeting and let us know if there is any follow up in your participation and the nature of it…

  2. Through my blog I have received emails from Americans and have noted a common thread in terms of the political scene in the U.S.

    One wrote:

    “About President Bush, I will say I am a conservative and voted for him in both elections. However the American people are very disappointed in the outcome of this war, how it’s being handled, and in the American government period! Many fear that we are losing our position as #1 world power. We are fed up with the Republicans, Democrats and our Congress! I fear for our future”…

    I think both Republicans and Democrats should “restore the brand”, as you put it. In terms of the current crop of Republican candidates I do not think that any one of them measure up, not yet anyway. The same could be said of Democrats. Both major party candidates seem to have distanced themselves from their traditional party ideology and voter base, little wonder there is voter apathy.

    Love him or hate him, Al Gore strikes me as the only potential politician in the United States whose personal doctrine is consistent with that of the party he supports; one has to give him credit for that. Of course, he has not put his hand up to run, but if he were to, Hillary and Obama would be history.

    Back to the major Republican people, what do you think of Mitt Romney? http://www.mittromney.com/

    I think that America is on the verge of turning the corner and I am increasingly getting optimistic and so are some influential intellectuals. If you get time, have a read of this great piece as published in “The Economist”: “American power Still No.1” … Wounded, tetchy and less effective than it should be, America is still the power that counts…

    The article can be viewed at http://www.economist.com/opinion/displayStory.cfm?Story_ID=9407806

    Finally, I am glad you attended the committee meeting and let us know if there is any follow up in your participation and the nature of it…

  3. Well, you are right. You either love Al Gore or you hate him. Personally, I have strong feelings against anyone who would come out and blatantly lie to America (ie when he said he gave us the internet). But I will admit that I’d want him to be President more than Hillary (you don’t know how much it pained me to just say that).

    Mitt Romney. Well, I will admit that he does have a stronger stand than most and he does have the advantage of funding in this race. But I’m still not sure his stand is strong enough. At the first Republican Presidential Debate in South Carolina a few months ago, he stood up and took a strong stand against any type of gun control. But then it was noted that he had just passed a new gun control bill on assault weapons in the state where he is from. Now, sure maybe assault weapons should have some limitations on them, but don’t come out and tell me you are against ALL types of gun control-just tell me what you believe. So yeah, that kind of hurt him in my eyes.

    Thanks for the article! I will go over and check that out. And I will keep you posted on my involvement with this upcoming political race.

  4. […] doesn’t represent our Republican morals and standards. Yet another example of what I have already referred to as the Republican party losing it’s […]

Leave a Reply

